In the world of Raleigh DWI Defense the span of consequences is long and exhausting. Many realize that being convicted of a Raleigh DWI Charge will result in loss of license, an increase in insurance premiums and plenty of costs and fines. Some even know that there are consequences with even being CHARGED with a DWI, including loss of license for 30 days and a $100 civil revocation fee, even if you are not convicted. What some do not realize are the after affects of a North Carolina DWI Conviction which are less heard of. For starters, anyone with a blood/alcohol concentration of .15 or above will have the added requirement of having an Interlock device installed on their vehicle for one year at the point that they start driving after being convicted of a North Carolina Driving While Intoxicated charge. This device cost approximately $100 to install, and $60/month maintenance; all costs that are the burden of the Defendant. In addition to this requirement, where those with a blood/alcohol concentration below .15 (or who were convicted under the Appreciable Impairment portion of the statute) can receive a Limited Driving Privilege the same day as their conviction, those with a .15 BAC will have to wait 45 days before they can receive it AND have completed their Substance Abuse Assessment as well as all recommended treatment and show proof of the Interlock installation. Another thing to consider is any license restrictions which will be applied to the Defendant’s driver’s license once they get it back. A five-year restriction of DWI Convictions whereby the Defendant cannot be found driving with a blood/alcohol concentration of .04 or more. Though one would think after having been previously convicted of Driving Under the Influence in North Carolina, most would avoid drinking and driving anything, many people believe they are probably safe to drive after only one drink. In reality, depending on the individual, one drink can lead to a blow of .04. Recently, I was successful in getting an acquittal for a client charged with violating their license restriction. My client refused to provide a breath sample and the State elected not to obtain a blood sample. Since the State had no scientific evidence as to what, exactly my client’s Blood/Alcohol Concentration was, I argued that the State failed to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that my client’s BAC was at .04 or above. Lastly, and most importantly, in North Carolina, you DO NOT want to get a second DWI after having previously been convicted. If the prior DWI conviction was within the preceding 7 years prior to the new DWI, that is a Grossly Aggravating Factor. One North Carolina Grossly Aggravating Factor will result in a minimum mandatory jail sentence of 7 days. Obviously, there are other consequences, namely the fact that the conviction will show up on the Defendant’s record. Obviously, it is recommended to never get charged with a DWI in North Carolina, but if you have been, seek legal counsel immediately. If you received a DWI, or any other Traffic or Criminal citation in the Research Triangle Area, contact the Matheson Law Office, Pllc for assistance.
No matter what your situation is, we will give you prompt attention, regular updates, and clear explanations regarding developments in your case. Call us anytime at (919)-335-5291 for a consultation.
Matheson & Associates employs a skilled set of attorneys and support staff to ensure our clients zealous and determined representation. Whether you are facing a DWI or other criminal charges, need help forming a business, or just need someone representing your interests in a personal injury claim, Matheson & Associates is prepared and eager to be your advocate. We have experience representing hundreds of clients and we are dedicated to total client satisfaction. Call us today for a consultation and find out why so many trust Matheson & Associates to represent their legal needs.