Whether you are guilty or not, it feels scary and frustrating to be pulled over while driving. Sometimes, you are not sure what violation you may have committed. But once you find out and the stop is over, your next steps are crucial.
Don’t leave your future to chance. Contact our office at 919-335-5291 to protect yourself from insurance hikes, loss of driving privileges, and possible jail time.
- First, ease your vehicle over to a safe location as soon as is reasonably possible. Do not jerk the steering wheel or brake suddenly.
- When the officer approaches your vehicle; BE POLITE. Remember, they are just doing their job.
- While being polite, do not admit to anything. Statements made during your stop can be used against you. If you are asked incriminating questions, you could respond, “I respect what you do officer, but I respectfully refuse to answer any question.”
- If the officer asks to search your vehicle, politely refuse. REMEMBER you are under NO obligation to consent to a search of your vehicle; however an officer may decide he or she has grounds to search your car without your consent, and in those cases, be polite and unobtrusive. Even though most people think they have nothing to hide, you should still refuse to give consent when asked. Think about all the times you have had someone else ride in your vehicle, or borrow your car, or left it unlocked, or even who had access to your car before you bought it.
- Once the stop is completed, merge back into traffic safely without causing any disturbance (no kicking up gravel or peeling out).
If you have received a North Carolina DWI Ticket or North Carolina DUI Ticket in the Triangle, you are likely looking at the many Raleigh DUI Attorneys available. Before you decide on who to hire, review the below information for some insight into North Carolina DWI Defense.
Though North Carolina’s “drunk driving” law is specifically a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated), it is also commonly referred to as a DUI (Driving Under the Influence).
Under North Carolina DWI Laws, the state must prove:
- That you were driving
- That you were driving on a North Carolina Public Street, Highway, or Public Vehicular Area (normally parking lots)
- That you:
- “consumed a sufficient quantity of an impairing substance so that your mental and/or physical faculties were appreciably impaired”
- that your blood alcohol concentration was .08 or more.”
Whether innocent or guilty, you will need an experienced DWI attorney to help you get the best possible outcome.
From the time the officer first happens upon you, he or she is gathering evidence for a possible charge of DWI. Everything from the way you were driving, to your appearance, to your smell will be evaluated.
Fortunately, there are many guidelines by which the officers must operate within in order for the evidence they gather to be used against you. A good attorney can help detract from the State’s case by limiting the evidence that is introduced if those guidelines are not strictly followed.
Contact Matheson & Associates at 919-335-5291 for a consultation of your case.
Receiving a traffic citation can be, at the very least, frustrating. Make no mistake, North Carolina’s traffic citation laws are designed to punish you. Gone are the days when you could pay a simple $25 fine and be on your way. A simple traffic ticket can lead to:
- Court costs of at least $180
- A fine of $25 or more
- Drivers License points – enough of these can cause you to lose your drivers license!
- Insurance Points – even 1 point is a mandatory increase in your insurance rates!
- In severe cases, traffic issues can mean high fines, steep increases in insurance costs ― and even the immediate loss of your drivers license.
Because of North Carolina’s traffic citation laws, you’re going to spend a couple hundred dollars on just a simple speeding ticket – even if you handle this yourself! Wouldn’t it be better to spend a little more and hire an attorney to make sure that it’s done right and that you get the best possible outcome?
Some common traffic offenses in North Carolina are:
- Highway Racing
- Hit & Run
- DWI/Driving After Consuming
- Speeding to Elude
- Driving While License Revoked (both as a result of a DWI or not related to a DWI offense)
- No Operator’s License
- Careless and Reckless Driving
- Passing a Stopped School Bus
- Speeding (including Speeding in a School/Construction Zone)
- Failure to Restrain Child in Child Restraint Seat
- Failure to Move Over
- Following Too Closely
- Failure to Maintain Lane Control
- Failure to Yield Right-of-Way
- No Registration/Insurance
- Stop Sign/Stop Light Violations
- Seatbelt Violations