Driver’s License Points In North Carolina (High and Low Level Traffic Offenses)

Traffic offenses in North Carolina will, in most cases, amount to Driver’s License Points and insurance points.  Focusing particularly on the license and insurance point system (excluding commercial vehicle), you will see that more serious traffic offenses will obviously carry more impact to both point systems than the lesser offenses.  In order to explain NC Traffic Law, we wanted to share the point system with you so that you can have a better understanding about what you are facing.  Below you will find the charges and their corresponding license and insurance points associated.

Charge  License                  Insurance
Death by motor vehicle Suspension 12
Hit and Run (Bodily Injury/death) Suspension 12
DWI Suspension 12
Racing Suspension 10
Speeding to Elude Suspension 10
Driving While License Revoked Suspension 8
Reckless Driving 4 4
Hit and Run (Bodily Injury) 4 4
Passing a Stopped School Bus 5 4
Speeding 75+ in a less than 70 zone Suspension 4
Speeding 80+ in a 70 or greater zone 3 4
Driving After Consuming Suspension 4
Stop Sign/Light Violation 3 1
Following Too Closely 4 2
Accident, Damage $1,800-$3,000 0 2
Speeding 10 over when total speed is between 55 and 76 3 2
Speeding 10 or less in 55+ zone:

·      Speeding greater than 55 mph

·      Speeding Less than or equal to 55mph

·      Speeding in School zone

 

3

2

 

3

 

By Speed

By Speed

 

By Speed

All other Moving Violations 2 1
NOL 3 1
No Insurance 3 1

 

No Insurance Increase:
·      PJC

·      Non Moving Violation

·      Speeding 10 mph or less as long it is not in a school zone and no prior moving violations or claims on your insurance in the last 3       years.

 

  Three Year Insurance Increase
Points Rate Increase
1 25%
2 45%
3 65%
4 90%
5 120%
6 150%
7 180%
8 220%
9 260%
10 300%
11 350%
12 400%

Driver’s License Points can, as you can see have a major affect on your insurance rates for the next several years.  The most important thing to remember is to always contact a lawyer or traffic defense attorney and speak to them about your options.  In many counties, there are policies which allow you, the defendant, to reduce or minimize your offense so that it will not affect your insurance rates.  Based on the chart above, your safest option is to try and reduce your offense to a non-moving violation in order to avoid the points from impacting your insurance.  However, this process becomes increasingly difficult the more times you receive a traffic ticket within a 3 year span.

Posted in blog Tagged , , Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.