Drugs are classified into 6 different categories, also called “schedules”. Each schedule accounts for its potential for abuse and accepted medical use.

Schedule I

Highest potential for abuse and no accepted medical use.

  • Heroin
  • Ecstasy
  • Peyote
  • Opiates
  • GHB
  • Methaqualone
  • Fentanyl

Schedule II

Have a high addiction risk with little medical use.

  • Cocaine
  • Opium
  • Codeine
  • Hydrocodone
  • Morphine
  • Methadone

Schedule III

Have a less potential for abuse than I and II and have accepted medical uses.

  • Ketamine
  • Anabolic Steroids
  • Barbiturates

Schedule IV

Low potential for abuse and have accepted medical uses.

  • Xanax
  • Valium
  • Darvon
  • Rohypnol
  • Clonazepam

Schedule V

Have a very low potential for abuse and have accepted medical uses. Abuse may lead to limited dependency.

  • Codeine
  • Certain Anticonvulsants
  • Drugs with limited concentrations of narcotics

Schedule VI

Have a low potential for abuse but no accepted medical uses in North Carolina.

  • Marijuana
  • Hashish
  • Hash Oil