Criminal Defense / Misdemeanors

Misdemeanor Charges

Misdemeanor Charges

When facing North Carolina Misdemeanors Charges, it can be hard to understand exactly how serious the offense is. Criminal charges range from Class 3 Misdemeanors to Class A1 Misdemeanors. Sentencing can range from just court costs and a fine, to up to 150 days in jail. Considering the risks of a misdemeanor convictions, you do not want to face them without the assistance of a seasoned Criminal Defense Lawyer. In addition, there may be issues with the State’s case which could result in dismissal of your charge. From search warrants, to basis for the search, and issues with a traffic stop, we may be able to challenge the State’s case to get a more favorable plea or dismissal. We have handled hundreds of different misdemeanor charges with favorable outcomes for our clients.

Misdemeanor Assault

  • Simple Affray
  • Simple Assault
  • Child Abuse
  • Assault on Government Official
  • Assault and Battery
  • Assault of a Female
  • Assault with a Deadly Weapon
  • Sexual Battery
  • Assault Causing Serious Injury

Misdemeanor Property

  • Injury to Personal/Real Property
  • Shoplifting
  • Larceny
  • Trespassing
  • Breaking and Entering Buildings
  • Worthless Checks
  • Gambling
  • Hit/Run after Accident

Drug Misdemeanors

  • Possession of Marijuana/Drug Paraphernalia
  • Possession of Marijuana
  • Possession of Schedule II-V CS

Other Misdemeanors

  • Reckless Driving
  • Speeding 15mph or more or more than 80mph
  • DWI
  • Aiding and Abetting DWI
  • Fail to Move Over for Emergency Vehicle
  • Fail to Stop for School Bus
  • Flee/Elude
  • Open Container
  • Purchasing Alcohol for <21
  • Possession of Alcohol under 21
  • Possession of Fake ID
  • Carry Concealed Weapon
  • Driving After Consuming

Misdemeanor Sentencing

Misdemeanor Sentencing

North Carolina misdemeanors are assigned to one of four classes— Class A1, 1, 2, and 3—from most to least serious. North Carolina’s sentencing is based on a sentencing range for the crime’s misdemeanor classification and the person’s prior conviction level—your criminal history record. Once your prior conviction level is established, the judge would sentence you based on the range of sentence for the misdemeanor classification that your crime falls within. If your prior criminal history fell within a Level II or Level III conviction level, your sentence would be more severe than if you were classified into Level I.